We Still Don’t Know the Name of the Flower We Saw That Day

A group of six childhood friends drift apart after one of them, Meiko “Menma” Honma, dies in an accident. Ten years later, the leader of the group, Jinta Yadomi, has since become withdrawn and lives as a recluse. One summer day, an older looking Menma appears before him, saying she wants to have a wish granted, though she does not remember what it is.” (source)

I finished watching ‘Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae o Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai’ this morning at 4am!! Though I found the first half of the anime to be really slow-moving, I really enjoyed it from Episode 7 onwards; mostly because everyone really started to contribute towards helping grant Menma’s wish, and I felt the plot was finally going somewhere. It was also from here that the anime really started tugging on my heartstrings ;_;.

I found the ending pretty satisfying, too. I usually avoid dramas/movies/etc. which involve death from the start because rarely do you have a good ending (people can’t just come back from the dead!!) and you’re usually sucked in to shipping the dead character and someone alive. But Anohana’s ending was definitely a sweet one.

The best thing about this anime was probably the opening and ending songs. I didn’t like how the credits started rolling before each episode even ended but the ending song always added to the mood. I really ought to stop being lazy and rip the audio.

6 thoughts on “We Still Don’t Know the Name of the Flower We Saw That Day

  1. You finished before me when I was the one who recommended it to you! How many eps is it anyway? idek

    (and did you cry a lot?)

    • Did you actually recommend it to me? Because two of my friends kept pushing me to watch it and I just knew you watched it too LOL. There are only 11 eps so COME ON AND FINISH IT!!!! I cried a lot in the last couple of eps and went to bed with my eyes puffy because I was too lazy to wash my face. You weren’t online when I posted this so I wasn’t sure if you’d read or not but lucky I didn’t spoil anything for you!!! Gee I’m so considerate 8D.

      • OR maybe you’re not used to writing long posts anymore and couldn’t be bothered to write about any spoilers lol
        I think i’ll finish it tonight (AFTER I GET A BOX OF TISSUES). Thank god anime episodes are so short ahem dramas.

  2. Did I tell you about how I finished anohana and cried so much I was actually sobbing? WELL. I DID. From when she started disappearing I was like ;~; but then when they found the letters I just lost it and started sobbing for a good 5 minutes omggg

Leave a Reply

